HBL Award Ceremony organized by IMC


On the 6th of January, 2016, an award ceremony took place at IBA Main Campus for HBL’s Women’s Banking Program Brand Name Competition. The event was attended by members of the HBL team, including Ms. Zubina Sadick (Senior Regional Chief), Mr. Danysh Hashmi (Head Retail Products), Ms. Samira Omer (Head Women Market Program), Mr. Abdul Basit Memon (Business Development Manager, Karachi) and Ms. Umamah Mehmood (Corporate Brand Manager, HBL), IBA’s Dean and Director, Dr. Ishrat Hussain, and representatives of the IBA Marketing Club (IMC).

This student-based competition was organized across various renowned universities of Pakistan. Participants were required to suggest a suitable name and tagline, along with the rationale behind their choice, for HBL’s upcoming Women’s Banking Program. The competition was announced in October 2015 and was open for a week. The winner was to be awarded an Apple iPhone 6S and a certificate for recognition.

IBA takes immense pride in announcing that the winner of this competition, Mr. Uzair Taqvi, is an IBA alumnus who graduated in the year 2013. Uzair was awarded an iPhone 6S along with a shield of appreciation by HBL for his creative yet practical input.

Uzair suggested the name for the program, ‘HBL Nisa’, an Arabic word for women. Uzair felt that this particular name would relate with all Pakistani women given Pakistan’s deep roots and connections with the Arabic language. With regards to the tagline, Uzair elaborated that ‘Har Khwab Hai Khaas’ (Every dream is special) was in line with HBL’s tagline ‘Jahan Khwab. Wahan HBL’ and could also incorporate a dual meaning by interchangeably using ‘Her’ and ‘Har’.

HBL also presented tokens of appreciation to Dr. Ishrat Hussain and Mr. Jami Moiz (Patron of the IBA Marketing Club). Syed Asad Zaffar, Chief Financial Officer of IMC, collected the award on behalf of Mr. Jami Moiz. The ceremony concluded on a positive note with refreshments and some enlightening discussions between Dr. Ishrat, the HBL team and IMC members.